Skip to content

Why Coffee Prince is my ultimate comfort food, why I should allow myself to care, and that I am sucker to a certain kind of songs

August 3, 2013

vlcsnap-2012-11-13-14h07m30s32

Coffee Prince.. is my catharsis. I watch it when I can’t sort myself out. I watch it when I have too many questions, too little answers. I watch when I need advice.

It’s a character drama more than a plot driven one, and the strength lies is in its four main characters. They are smart, thoughtful, comfortable in their own skins and care for what they stood for. They talk, they communicate, they say things I wished I have said. I see myself in Eun Chan, I get frustrated at Eun Chan. I see myself in Han Gyul, I get frustrated at Han Gyul.

Eun Chan and her relationship with her sister. Eun Chan heading the household because her dad is no longer around. Eun Chan’s can-do spirit. It hits me, hard.

vlcsnap-2013-08-03-02h07m53s93

My favourite scene changes, and for now, maybe this is my favourite

Go Eun Chan, I need someone who trusts me. Even if everyone else curses at me for being useless, I needed someone who’d believe: ‘Choi Han Gyul just didn’t have the opportunity to show himself. He’s a guy who does what he puts his mind to. He’s just someone who hasn’t yet found what he wants to do in life, but he truly can accomplish what he sets out to do.’ I needed someone to have that kind of faith in me.

It started from watching Tom Hiddleston at Nerd HQ. Maybe because I’ve been spending too much time on tumblr, and people have been gif-ing the good moments from this session. I don’t think he said anything groundbreaking, reminders, many, and the one that stood out for me

“Basically I gave myself permission to care. Because there are a lot of people in this world, who are afraid of caring. Or are afraid of showing they care because it’s uncool, it’s uncool to have passion. It’s so much easier to lose when you’ve shown everyone how much you don’t care if you win or lose. It’s much harder to lose when you show that you care. But you’ll never win unless you also stand to lose.”

Hiddleston, I actually think about what you said when I am in the savasana pose. Allowing myself to care. Allowing myself to get hurt, because only when you stand to lose, you get to win. Allow myself to feel, allow myself to get angry, allow myself to feel sad.

But too bad, you know that you’re good looking. And I can’t bring myself to care more about you knowing that.

I
cannot
stop
listening
to
this

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

